“For me it’s an honor to be part of the ECT team in the Midwest. We have several new employees, including me, on the Midwest Natural Resource team, and it’s a great opportunity to work together to build something amazing,” said Ruth Ann Sobnosky. “Not only have we established an Ohio office, but I am helping develop new clients, new markets, and I’m excited to announce ECT is now an Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) prequalified environmental consultant.”

Ruth Ann recently guided ECT through the process to become a prequalified environmental consultant with ODOT, and is herself prequalified in categorical exclusions, managing the environmental and project development process (National Environmental Policy Act and Section 4(f)). She is also fully trained with ODOT in ecological surveys, project development process, purpose and need, Section 6(f), and waterway permits.

As a result, ECT is prequalified to complete ecological surveys, waterway permits, wetland and stream mitigation, and other environmental documents, including environmental impact statements, environmental assessments, categorical exclusions, and Section 4(f) for ODOT and local public agencies.

“Helping to grow the Ohio office is an exciting opportunity, as is building a Midwest planning and permitting team focused on renewable energy projects,” Ruth Ann said. “I am looking forward to adding my 25 plus years of environmental planning experience to a team that already has a wealth of experience. Working with clients to help them navigate the local permitting process can be extremely challenging, and I am fortunate to be part of a highly qualified team of professionals to successfully take on these projects and grow this business.”

“It’s exciting to have Ruth Ann as part of my Midwest team as her extensive DOT and local permitting experience will ultimately diversify and grow the planning and permitting group,” said Jessica Miller, senior manager for the Natural Resources service line.

Ruth Ann has a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in geography from Northern Illinois University—Dekalb and Southern Illinois University—Edwardsville, respectively.